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How It Works

These resources will help guide you on using the Morphio® platform.


What are Anomalies?

Morphio's automatic anomaly detection helps track your data across different channels, metrics, and sources on a daily basis. Morphio's machine learning is based on a predictive model and normalized historical data, trends and a few other parameters. When a significant difference is detected from the predicted normal value, Morphio will notify you through Slack and in-platform.

How is an anomaly defined?

At the end of each day, Morphio’s algorithm crunches metrics from multiple integrated platforms. The data is analyzed alongside ‘the same day’ from the previous six months and one year prior. The baseline for each channel and metric is calculated using a deep neural network model that considers many factors to predict benchmarks that are specific to your website.

In a normal distribution, it is anticipated that 95% of data fits inside two standard deviations of the average. Data variations outside of 2 standard deviations are labeled as a Level 2 Anomaly or Level 3 Anomaly. Check out the diagram below.

Anomaly Levels

What does your anomaly card mean?

Anomaly Levels

  1. Metric (Avg Time On Site, Sessions, Goal Completions, etc.)
  2. Channel (Paid Social, Organic, etc.)
  3. Anomaly level:
    a. Level 1 is a slight change
    b. Level 2 is a more severe change
    c. Level 3 is an extreme change
  4. Actual values
  5. The expected range of the values for this date, channel, and metric
  6. Related Goals, Prediction of the goal most likely to be affected.
  7. Colours:
    a. Dark and light green anomaly cards represent positive changes in your data
    b. Red and orange colours represent negative changes in your data

What channels and metrics are being tracked?

The below shows the metrics, dimensions, and channels that Morphio tracks for anomalies:

  • Multichannel anomalies:
    Source: Google Analytics
    Dimensions: All Users, Organic, Paid Search, Paid Social, Display
    Metrics: Sessions, Goal Completions, Transactions, Conversion Rate, Avg Session Duration and Bounce Rate

  • Device/Country anomalies:
    Source: Google Analytics
    Dimensions: Device/Mobile, Canada/US
    Metrics: Sessions, Goal Completions

  • Spend anomalies:
    Source: Google Ads, Facebook Ads, Microsoft Advertising, LinkedIn Ads
    Dimensions: All Users
    Metrics: Spend

  • Campaign anomalies:
    Source: Google Ads, Facebook Ads, Microsoft Advertising, LinkedIn Ads
    Dimensions: Campaigns
    Metrics: CTR, Clicks, Impressions

  • Search keywords anomalies:
    Source: Google Ads
    Dimensions: Search Keywords
    Metrics: Quality Score

  • Search ad anomalies:
    Source: Google Ads
    Dimensions: Search Ads
    Metrics: CTR


What are Segments?

Upon integration and setup as well as on the 1st day of each month, Morphio’s algorithm analyzes your website traffic to identify and group users into segments. These segments are formed based on the profile similarity of the audience, their engagements, and their chance of conversion. The system looks for high potential audience segments and those with high conversion/stickiness rate. It also segments audiences that have significantly lower conversion/stickiness rate, allowing you to modify your targeting or spend on these profiles.

Profiles can include the following attributes:

  • Device Category (Mobile, Desktop, and Tablet)
  • User Gender (Male, Female)
  • User Age Bracket (25-34, 35-44, etc.)
  • Interest In Market Category (Autos & Vehicles, Financial Services, etc.)
  • Country
  • Region (Province/State)
  • City
  • Each user has to belong to one of the segments. Morphio’s algorithm then filters out your high potential marketing audiences.

Why don't I see any segments?

You may not have any segments in your account for one or more of the following reasons:

  • There aren’t enough conversions to identify meaningful trends
  • There are no statistically significant differences in bounce rate
  • Tracking demographic information is not activated in your Analytics account

What is stickiness rate?

Stickiness rate is defined as one minus the bounce rate and represents the percentage of your active sessions compared to all sessions. Morphio’s algorithm requires at least 100 conversions and 0.01% conversion rate in the past 3 months to generate audience segments based on conversion rate. Otherwise, your segments will be generated based on stickiness rate.

Competitor Insights

What are Competitor Insights?

Keywords and Competitors URL’s are intertwined under the Competitor module. Morphio correlates between a branded competitor that you may perceive as a competitor and a real competitor as it relates to technical website SEO or keyword structure - and vice-versa. Morphio allows you to establish benchmarks against each and to follow their SEO progress and updates. We suggest that you evaluate this correlation weekly to maximize competitor positioning.

How does it work?

Once you added the main URL under your view, two inputs (Keywords and/or Competitor URL’s) will allow you to track search rankings against competitor changes. To help you determine keywords and competitors, we have suggestion tools that propose related keyword and/or competitor URL’s.

- Starting with Keywords and Competitors:

  • To suggest keywords, we scrap the content from your main URL as well as your competitors (if any were added previously), to find the keywords with highest frequency and relation to the context (for example if you are in the fashion business, we try to rank the fashion related terms higher).

  • Concurrently, based on the keywords that you have entered (if any) and also the keywords that Morphio had scraped from your main URL. Morphio then Google’s each and obtains the corresponding search rankings of possible organic competitor URL. Morphio then ranks and aggregates those competitors result to suggest the final competitor candidates.

  • Lastly, Morphio pulls relevant keywords from the top performing audience segments and ads each as options for consideration.

- Starting with Competitors and Keywords:

  • After a new competitor is added (either manually or from Morphio’s suggestion tool), Morphio scrapes the content of each URL and suggests new keywords based on the new data. Concurrently, Morphio suggests new competitors suggestion list, once you change your keywords list.

- Save Changes:

  • Once you are satisfied with the progress you have made (keywords and competitors), Morphio will remind you that you need to click on “Apply Changes” button to re-generate your SEO reports based on the new settings.

- Reports:

  • Every Monday morning, Morphio re-generates SEO reports if there have been any changes across search ranking or competitors and keywords.

  • Morphio also tracks competitor (and your main URL) content changes, so in a case that these changes lead to significant changes in the search ranking, Morphio will notify you under competitor anomalies tab.

  • If Morphio finds a match, we also generate suggestions about changing your content in order to increase your overall search ranking.

What information can I expect?

Here’s a taste of the types of insights you will receive about your key competitors:

Competitor Slack Example
Competitor Slack Example
Competitor Slack Example


What is Forecast?

Morphio's Forecast helps users to predict their monthly results across connected advertising platforms. Morphio leverages Machine Learning to help you understand how your critical metrics will look like if you spend less or more.

To get started, choose your desired metric (Goal Completions, Sessions, Transactions), and Morphio will list the top performing campaigns. You can then adjust the daily suggested spend on each of these top campaigns to reach desired new projections. Budgets will need to be modified directly through each platform to reflect these new spend forecasts (for now:) ). *Please note that the projection numbers are estimations and could be different from actuals.

In the Forecast, you are also able to compare actuals/projections to the past four weeks, the past 52 weeks, and last year data. Additionally, the anomaly totals will help you to discover the impact of anomalies on daily trends and its result on their end-of-month performance.

Required Integrations

Analytics: Your Google Analytics account, property and view must be connected to Morphio in order to start using the platform. Please note: this integration includes YouTube.

Additional Integrations

Google Ads: Connect your Google Ads account to Morphio and see your Search, Display, Video and Shopping campaigns in one place.

Microsoft Advertising: Connect your Microsoft Advertising account and view Search campaign metrics in Morphio.

Facebook Ads: Connect your Facebook Ads Account to collect campaign performance data in the Morphio platform. Please note that this integration includes Instagram.

LinkedIn Ads: Connect your LinkedIn Ads Account to collect campaign performance data in the Morphio platform.

Connecting Slack

Connect your Slack account to Morphio and receive real-time alerts about campaign anomalies and site performance, profitable audience segments, and competitor SEO changes.

To connect Slack, navigate to your Morphio Control Panel and select the View that you want Slack to be connected to. Then, go to “Settings” page (click the cog on the bottom right of the UI). Follow the instructions on the pop-up page in order to complete the Slack integration.

Create A New Channel

Launch Slack and click on “Create a Channel”. If you choose "Private", you need to invitie "Morphio APP" to the channel. Click on "Create Channel" button. This channel will be used to send all alerts related to this view to your team. Yes, you can create more than one channel per view.

Create Slack Channels

It is suggested to name the channel based on how you will reference this view with your team(s) in Slack.

Use An Existing Channel

If your existing channel is private, simple click View Channel Details, Scroll down to "+Add App", and add "Morphio APP" to the channel.

Add Channels To Morphio:

Enter the Channel name that you just created inside your Slack channel (ie. #brand_new) and select "Add".

Add Slack Channels

Test & Configure Channels

Test your Channel Slack integration and ensure alerts are on their way!

Test Slack Channels

You can control if you want to recieve all anomalies or only the critical ones (anomalies which happens three days in a row) using the checkmark under "Notifications".

What does an anomaly Slack notification mean?

Ccompetitor Slack Example

  1. Name of the account that this anomaly belongs to
  2. Emojis:
    😍 - Significant positive changes
    🆘 - Significant negative changes
    ⚠️ - Slight positive/negative changes
  3. Recent value(s)
  4. The expected range of the values for this date, channel, and metric
  5. Dark and light green colors in the anomaly card represent positive changes in your data. Red and orange colors show negative changes in your data.

Google Analytics Setup Guide

Is your data not pulling into Morphio the way it should? No problem!

We’ve put together this handy guide for Morphio platform users. By completing all 5 steps outlined below, you’ll be able to verify your Google Analytics set up correctly so that Morphio can add ultimate value.

If certain steps haven’t been completed, we’ve included recommendations to help you along.

1. Account Basics

There are a few preliminary steps that we recommend all organizations do to set a good foundation for their Google Analytics accounts.

  1. Ensure that your admin settings are complete at the Account, Property and View level (including site URL, time zone, bot filtering, industry category, etc.).

  2. If you have multiple team members who will need access to Google Analytics, make sure you grant access at the appropriate level. This can be done via User Management at either the Account, Property, or View level.
    Please Note: If you give user permissions at the Account level, users will have access to all Properties & Views; permissions at the Property level will give access to all Views. If you want to restrict permissions to a specific View or Property, keep this in mind.

  3. Under the View level, filter out internal IP addresses and any other backend traffic – that way, your data will be as reflective of your audience as possible.Please Note: We recommended you set up a raw (unfiltered) view, in addition to your regular filtered view. This way, you can compare data and ensure things are tracking properly.

  4. Link Google Ads to your Google Analytics account.

2. Tracking

Some of the most important data you’ll get in Google Analytics relies on proper setup of how that data gets tracked.

  1. Retrieve your tracking code, which is available in your admin settings under Tracking Info.

  2. Ensure the tracking code is installed correctly on your website. There are a few ways to do this:

    • Insert the snippet directly on your website (not the preferred method, but will still work):
      Make sure that the snippet is the first item in the tag of every page on your website that you want to track.

    • Google Tag Manager (preferred method):
      Google has a setup guide that we’d recommend you follow. This will ensure you select the right options for your needs.

    • Backend integration:
      Some platforms (e.g. Shopify) allow you to easily integrate your platforms with their systems. For Google Analytics, all you’ll need is your Tracking ID# (e.g. UA-1234567).
      Please Note: If using this method, please ensure that it is the ONLY integration method you’re using. If you hard code the snippet alongside this integration process, your data will likely be double counted and will skew Morphio’s data.

  3. Set up E-commerce tracking (if applicable).

    • E-commerce tracking makes it easier to get granular data of which products are performing well, how users interact with the checkout process, and more. First, you’ll need to enable E-commerce tracking by going to your Admin settings, then selecting Ecommerce Settings under the relevant View.
    • You’ll then have to add tracking code onto your website. This task will require a decent level of understanding of HTML and coding in JavaScript; Google has a setup guide that we recommend you follow for correct installation here.
  4. To track traffic from inbound campaigns, make sure you’re using UTM tagging on all URLs in your paid ads. Google has a free tool that helps you to build your campaign URLs, which can be found here.

3. Targeting

To help get deeper insights into your customers and their behaviour, it’s important to allow Google Analytics to collect deeper insights.

Go to your admin settings and select Property Settings. Once there, enable the following: Demographics & Interests reporting, Enhanced Link Attribution, and the Users metric in reporting.

  • Demographics & Interests reporting allows you to see the age and gender of your users, as well as what other topics are of interest to them (based on browsing data).

  • Enhanced Link Attribution allows Google to more accurately track links on your page.

  • The Users metric in reporting allows you to see how many unique individuals visited your website, which can in turn help you understand frequency rates.

4. Goals

Goals are crucial to helping Google identify what your business considers desirable actions to be completed on your website. This could be a lead form submission, a purchase, a newsletter sign up, and more. Depending on what you’re trying to measure, Google Analytics offers 3 goal options: Template, Smart and Custom. The following explains how these goal types work, and how to set them up.

  1. Goals can be set up by going to the Admin panel at the bottom of the left-hand navigation bar (under View).

  2. Template: Templated goals are based on the industry category you selected when setting up your Google Analytics account. Select the one that works best for the action you want to measure.

    • Please Note: While most of the templated goals are set as “destination” goal types, you can manually change this yourself under “Goal Description”. More about the different goal types below!
  3. Smart Goal: Smart Goals allow users to automatically turn their most engaged visits into goals. If you want to use Smart Goals, they will need to be imported into the Google Ads account that you’ve linked to Google Analytics. During setup, click the “Learn More” to see how to import into Google Ads.

  4. Custom: This is the most flexible option that allows you to define all the parameters that make up the goal. There are 4 main goal types: Destination, Duration, Pages/Screens per Session, Event.

    • Destination - typically denotes a specific page that, if a user visits, signals they’ve completed the desired goal (e.g.
    • Duration - use this goal type if you want to count a completed action when users have spent a specific amount of time on your website.
    • Pages per Session - if a certain number of pages denote a completed action on your website, select this goal type.
    • Event - this goal type measures interactions with content on your website that don’t rely on a page load. For example, if you want to track which buttons are getting clicked on your homepage the most, you would use this goal type.
    • Event goals require minor knowledge of your website’s code, as well as having at least one Event already set up in Google Analytics. More information can be found here.
  5. Goal Details: This section outlines what conditions you want to happen before your goal will be triggered. For example, a “destination” goal will ask you which URL signals that the goal has been completed.

5. Verification

  1. Check to make sure data is being collected; this can be done by reviewing Real-Time report, as well as individual reports throughout the platform.
    If there’s no activity, make sure you’re looking at the right date range. If you still don’t see anything, it may be worth seeking a developer’s help to ensure the snippet has been installed correctly and that there’s nothing in the code that could be interfering with your Google Analytics implementation.

  2. Check that events are firing correctly – this can be done in Real-Time reports.
    Please Note: make sure you have events set up identically in your filtered and unfiltered views. When testing to ensure events are firing correctly, you’ll need to do so in your unfiltered view.

Billing Setup

Morphio Billing Setup

The Super-Admin will need to add in their credit card details into Morphio before starting a month to month subscription. Here’s a step by step guide on how to get billing started:

  1. You'll first need to log-in to Morphio, then select your account in the far right corner of your profile and click on the "Account Settings" option.

Morphio Billing

  1. Once you're in the “Account Settings” area, you'll click on the "Plans & Billing" tab.

Morphio Billing

Under "Billing Details", you'll click on "Edit Payment Method" which will open up a pop up on the right-hand side of your screen.

Morphio Billing

  1. Once you've added your credit card information and clicked on “Save”, you'll be redirected to the "Plans and Settings" area and you'll now see your credit card information under "Billing Details".

Morphio Billing

Your credit card has now been successfully added and now you can also select who will receive invoices directly by adding in their email address into the “Billing Email” section.

Morphio Billing

Once your subscription has started and your credit card is charged, you will be able to see your invoices in your account by going to the “Account Settings” area and clicking on “Invoices”.

Morphio Billing

Clicking “View Details” will bring up a new window that will show you the details of the transaction and also give you the ability to download both the invoice and the receipt for the transaction.

Morphio Billing

If you ever have any questions or concerns regarding billing, please do not hesitate to contact our support team at - we’re always happy to help!

Metric Definitions

Morphio deals with many different metrics across a variety of different tactics and platforms and we'd like to expand on where these metrics are coming from and how they're calculated for you to better understand the data that you're looking at and how to best present it to your team and clients.


Morphio breaks down conversions by two different types:

  1. Transactions: Transactions are used as a conversion metric for E-commerce clients

  2. Goal Completions: Goal Completions are used for clients that have conversions such as Form Submissions, Phone Calls or other conversion goals from Analytics.

All of our conversion data is sourced from Analytics and having a rock-solid tracking set up is critical in having accurate reporting and ultimately a successful Morphio set up.

Conversion Rate

Utilizing the total number of Conversions (Goal Completions or Transactions) from Analytics, Morphio divides that number by the number of Sessions and multiplies it by 100 to get the Conversion Rate %.

Example: 45 Goal Completions in October / 2000 Sessions in October * 100 = 2.25% Conversion Rate for the month of October.


Impressions in Morphio are directly compiled from Facebook Ads, Google Ads, LinkedIn and Microsoft Advertising and we use the total of all impressions from these platforms to give you an aggregated impressions metric in Morphio.


All of the sessions data that is presented in Morphio is from Analytics. It's recommended that you use an Analytics view that filters bots and other traffic.


Morphio uses Facebook Ads, Google Ads, LinkedIn and Microsoft Advertising to compile the total cost of advertising on these platforms. Although the naming of Cost can differ from platform to platform, we consider any type of spending that goes into campaigns on these platforms to fall under the umbrella of Cost.


To calculate Revenue for Goal Completions, Morphio uses the Average Order Value and multiplies that number by the number of goal completions. For Transactions, we simply pull the Transaction Revenue from Analytics.


  1. Goal Completions: Average Order Value in October is $100 and there were 300 Goal Completions in Analytics. $100 *300 = $30,000 will appear in Revenue for Morphio.

  2. Transactions: Analytics has $30,000 in Transaction Revenue for the month of October. Morphio will use that Transaction Revenue amount for Revenue.

Estimated Revenue

For leads-based businesses, we use a calculated metric called Estimated Revenue that attributes an approximate value to the leads that your website is getting from form submissions. We use the Lifetime Value (LTV) and Closing % along with your current amount of conversions in order to calculate an Estimated Revenue value.

Example : Client has 100 conversions (form submissions) and 50% of those conversions turn into Sales (Closing %) at a value of $500 (LTV) each.

100 conversions x 50% close rate x $500 LTV = $25,000 in Estimated Revenue

Cost Per Lead

CPL is a calculated metric that takes your total marketing Cost (from Facebook, Google, and Microsoft) and divides that amount by your number of Conversions (from Analytics). Please be advised that CPL includes both paid and organic conversions divided by Cost.


  1. In October there were 10 Paid Search conversions, 15 Paid Social Conversions, and 30 Organic conversions and the total cost was $10,000.

  2. 55 Conversions / $10,000 Cost = 182$ CPL for October.

Cost Per Lead Paid

CPL Paid is a calculated metric that takes your total marketing Cost (from Facebook, Google, and Microsoft) and divides that amount by your number of Conversions (from Analytics and excludes Organic conversions). Please be advised that CPL Paid only includes Paid tactics.


  1. In October there were 10 Paid Search conversions, 15 Paid Social Conversions, and the total cost was $10,000.

  2. 25 Paid Conversions / $10,000 Cost = 400$ CPL Paid for October.

Cost Per Mille (CPM)

CPM is a calculated metric that takes the Cost (from Facebook, Google, and Microsoft) and divides that cost by the amount of 1000 impressions and finally, we multiply this number by 100 in order to get the CPM metric.


  1. October Cost is $10,000 and there were 50,000 impressions.

  2. $10,000 / (50,000 / 1000) * 100 = $200 CPM for October.

Engagement Rate

Engagement Rate is a calculated metric that uses Engagements from Facebook (defined as likes, comments, shares, and clicks) along with clicks from Microsoft and Google Ads and divides that the total number of engagements by the total number of impressions and then we multiply that number by 100 to give us an Engagement Rate %.


  1. 100 engagements on Facebook (likes, comments, shares, clicks), 250 clicks on Google and Microsoft Ads and a total of 15,000 impressions for the month of October.

  2. 350 total engagements & clicks / 15,000 impression * 100 = an Engagement Rate of 2.3% for the month of October.

Return on Ad Spend

We calculate ROAS by dividing Transaction Revenue or Estimated Revenue by the total Cost during a period of time.